Plaque at Quakers Graveyard

Old plaque at Quakers Graveyard

The Society of Friends (Quakers)

graveyard was opened in 1709. Many very prominent Clonmel Anglo-Irish families are buried here, as the plaque at the entrance arch testifies.

The Clibborn, Davis, Grubb, Malcomson, Hughes, Pim and Fayle families provided much employment to the townsfolk, and during the Great Famine (1845-1848) provided sustenance to the starving.

The Grounds are permanently locked, and so the casual visitor cannot get to see the inscriptions on the headstones.

Quakers Graveyard GPS Info:
52.353429 , -7.707596

Layout of Quaker Graveyard
Entrance gate